top of page

Bush Pigs and Tafea Set for Epic Final Showdown after Dominant Semifinal Wins



In the first semifinal match of the tournament, top-seeded Tafea Cricket Club demonstrated their supremacy with a comprehensive 61-run victory over the fourth-seeded Mighty Saints, thereby securing their place in the final and extending their unbeaten streak.

Opting to bat first, Tafea Cricket Club set an imposing total of 210 for 5 in their allotted 20 overs. Despite an early setback with the dismissal of Junior Nirua for a duck, Tafea's innings was invigorated by a sensational performance from Wamejo Wotu. Wotu delivered a blistering 77 off just 31 balls, peppering the boundary with seven fours and seven sixes, setting a ferocious pace for the innings. His aggressive approach left the Mighty Saints' bowlers scrambling for solutions.

Williamsing Nalisa continued the assault, scoring a rapid 45 off 20 balls before retiring hurt. His innings included a series of powerful shots, demonstrating Tafea's depth in batting. Remondo Lekai contributed a steady 28 off 33 balls, providing stability in the middle order. Darren Wotu's explosive unbeaten 36 off 13 balls towards the end of the innings, featuring four boundaries and two sixes, ensured Tafea reached a formidable total. The Saints' bowlers struggled to contain the relentless Tafea batting lineup, with only Simpson Obed managing to make a significant impact, taking 2 for 17 in his four overs. Nalin Nipiko, Steve Sandy, and C Nataivi each claimed a wicket but were unable to stem the flow of runs.

In response, the Mighty Saints faced an uphill task from the outset. Lazaro Carlot and Nalin Nipiko provided a glimmer of hope with a strong opening partnership. Carlot scored a brisk 46 off 32 balls, including six boundaries and a six, while Nipiko added a quickfire 32 off 19 balls, striking five fours and a six. However, the departure of both openers in quick succession shifted the momentum back to Tafea.

The middle order of the Saints crumbled under the pressure exerted by Tafea’s bowlers. Shay Narai was the standout performer with the ball, delivering a match-winning spell of 5 for 29 in his four overs. Narai’s precise and disciplined bowling dismantled the Saints' batting lineup, claiming crucial wickets and maintaining pressure throughout his spell. Williamsing Nalisa and Sanny Hapina also contributed with vital breakthroughs, with Nalisa taking 1 for 18 and Hapina picking up 2 for 14.

Simpson Obed tried to stabilize the innings with a quick 23 off 13 balls, but his efforts were in vain as the Saints continued to lose wickets at regular intervals. The lower order offered minimal resistance, with only Darren Banga and Langdale Tamalua managing to reach double figures. Tamalua’s unbeaten 17 off 11 balls added some respectability to the score, but it was too little, too late. The Saints finished at 149 for 9 in their 20 overs, falling well short of the target.

In a high-stakes semifinal clash, the North Efate Bush Pigs secured a decisive 42-run victory over the Paama Sharks, earning their spot in the final. The Bush Pigs' comprehensive performance with both bat and ball ensured their dominance throughout the match, setting the stage for a thrilling final against Tafea Cricket Club.

Opting to bat first, the North Efate Bush Pigs posted an imposing total of 224 for 3 in their allotted 20 overs. The innings began with early contributions from R Tari, who scored a brisk 25 off 22 balls, and Samuel Strid, who added 4 off 2 balls. However, the real impetus came from Clement Tommy, who played an explosive knock of 64 off 35 balls, featuring four boundaries and four sixes. His aggressive stroke play dismantled the Sharks' bowling attack and set a solid platform for the Bush Pigs.

Nick Venables continued the assault, remaining unbeaten on 63 off 37 balls, striking four boundaries and two sixes. His composed yet aggressive approach kept the scoreboard ticking. The innings was further accelerated by Tim Cutler's blistering 55 off just 17 balls, an innings that included two boundaries and seven towering sixes. Cutler's late onslaught ensured the Bush Pigs reached a formidable total, putting immense pressure on the Sharks right from the outset. Extras contributed a significant 24 runs to the total, highlighting some discipline issues in the Sharks' bowling attack.

The Sharks' bowlers struggled to contain the onslaught, with Justin Sarginson being the most expensive, conceding 63 runs in his three overs despite picking up a wicket. Waane Sirovulu and Stephane Sandy also managed to take a wicket each, but their efforts were insufficient to stem the flow of runs as the Bush Pigs capitalized on every scoring opportunity.

Chasing a formidable target of 225, the Paama Sharks needed a strong start but faced immediate challenges. Captain Jamal Vira led from the front with a magnificent 69 off 29 balls, including five boundaries and five sixes. His aggressive approach gave the Sharks a fighting chance, but the lack of substantial partnerships in the middle order hindered their chase. Bethan Viraliuliu provided solid support with 41 off 28 balls, playing a crucial role in the top order. However, his dismissal, stumped by Clement Tommy off Stanley Iata, shifted the momentum back to the Bush Pigs.

The Sharks' middle order struggled to maintain the required run rate. Vince Vira managed 8 off 9 balls, and Jordy Fred added a slow 8 off 17 balls, but they couldn't accelerate the innings. William Laumae's 10 off 12 balls offered brief hope, but consistent wickets kept the Bush Pigs in control. A brilliant spell from Stanley Iata, who claimed 3 for 30, was instrumental in breaking crucial partnerships and applying pressure.

The lower order of the Sharks saw some resistance, particularly from Stephane Sandy, who played a valiant unbeaten innings of 30 off 15 balls, hitting six boundaries. However, his efforts were in vain as the Sharks' tail could not withstand the disciplined bowling from the Bush Pigs. Obed Yosef was run out for 3, Brennan Meyer fell for 1, and SI Sandy remained not out on 1 as the innings concluded at 182 for 7 in 20 overs.

The Bush Pigs' bowlers executed their plans effectively, with Stanley Iata taking 3 for 30, providing critical breakthroughs at key moments. Tim Cutler and R Tari each contributed with key wickets, while Nick Venables bowled economically to stifle the Sharks' chase. Charlie Boe, despite being expensive, played his part in maintaining the pressure as they secured the victory and head into the Grand Final.

With both semifinal matches now concluded, the stage is set for an exciting final between Tafea Cricket Club and the North Efate Bush Pigs. Both teams have demonstrated exceptional skill and resilience throughout the tournament, promising a thrilling contest for the championship. Stay tuned for what promises to be an epic showdown in the final.

77 views0 comments


bottom of page