top of page

Vanuatu Cricket Association Unveils Women's Squad Set to Compete in ICC Women's T20WC EAP Qualifier

Upon returning from the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Final in Papua New Guinea, the Vanuatu Cricket Association now looks towards its final World Cup Qualifier of 2023. The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup East Asia Pacific Qualifier. The Vanuatu Cricket Association are set to welcome and host six international women’s cricket teams at the end of August, from the Cook Islands, Fiji, Samoa, Papua New Guinea, Japan, and Indonesia for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup EAP Qualifiers. The tournament will commence on the 1st of September and will conclude on the on the 8th of September with the winning team of the competition progressing through to the Global Qualifiers which will be held next year.

With just a month remaining until the event, the Vanuatu Cricket Association is pleased to reveal the fourteen-woman squad that will represent Vanuatu under the guidance of the newly appointed National Women’s Head Coach, Joshua Rasu. A respected member of the National Men’s team and a certified level one coach, Rasu expressed his enthusiasm:

"I am honoured by the opportunity to serve as the Women’s Head Coach. This promises to be a valuable experience for me, especially as I build upon my ICC Level one coaching credentials. I am looking forward to assisting these talented women as they prepare for the tournament. We have a strong group, and I am confident in our chances of progressing to the global qualifier next year."

The Vanuatu National Women’s Team selected for the EAP Qualifier includes:

  • Selina Solman (Captain, North Efate Bushpigs)

  • Alvina Chilia (Vice-Captain, Splashe Mele Bulls)

  • Rachel Andrew (Ifira Blackbirds)

  • Nasimana Navaika (Tafea CC)

  • Valenta Lagiatu (Splashe Mele Bulls)

  • Tina Kalosin (North Efate Bushpigs)

  • Vicky Mansale (Splashe Mele Bulls)

  • Lamaurie Chilia (Splashe Mele Bulls)

  • Maiylisse Carlot (Mighty Saints)

  • Raylin Ova (Splashe Mele Bulls)

  • Leisau Andrew (Ifira Blackbirds)

  • Lissing Enoch (Ifira Blackbirds)

  • Vanessa Vira (Paama Sharks)

  • Mahina Tarimiala (North Efate Bushpigs)

Reserves: Leimara Tastuki, Naitha Simelu, Netty Chilia

All matches will take place at the esteemed Vanuatu Cricket Grounds and will be open to the public, with details on live-streaming and match timings to be announced through Vanuatu Cricket's media channels in the coming weeks.

380 views0 comments


bottom of page