top of page

2024 Men’s T20 Championship Commences

The 2024 cricket season continues this Saturday at the Vanuatu Cricket Grounds and Independence Park with the Men’s T20 Championship commencing at 1:00 PM where six teams will compete for the coveted Shield.

Reigning 2023 Champions, Tusker Panthers will be looking to retain the shield by competing against five teams, namely, Splashe Mele Bulls, Tafea Cricket Club, Paama Sharks, Mighty Saints and North Efate Bushpigs. The competition will commence this weekend at both the Vanuatu Cricket Grounds and Independence Park from 1 PM and will run for 10 rounds before semi-finals and finals in June.

Operations Manager, Jamal Vira commented:

“We are really excited to get the season underway this year and I think a lot of the clubs have been working hard to ensure they're in the best shape heading into this year.

“With the first of the competitions being a double round robin T20 into a seeded independence cup knockout before the longer 40 over domestic shield, each senior men's team will be playing up to 17 games each with the season coming to an end in early September. For the women the season starts in June with the double round-robin T20 Championship and will cross over into a seeded independence knockout before finishing in late August

“Outside of Port Vila's club cricket schedule, we are also excited to announce the first senior cricket competition on Tanna starting in May alongside Senior comps for South Santo beginning on the 7th of May and Luganville in late June.”

All matches are free to watch and interested participants of all skill levels are encouraged to reach out to clubs if they’re interested in playing this cricket season. All match updates and information can be found across the Vanuatu Cricket social media channels. Competition Draw: Mens T20 Championship | cricHQ


7 views0 comments


bottom of page