top of page

Nalin Nipiko and Rachel Andrew Dominate the 2023 Cricket Awards with Multiple International Wins

After a hiatus due to COVID and cyclone disruptions, the Vanuatu Cricket Association proudly revived its annual awards night last Friday, honouring the remarkable cricketing talent spanning the 2019-2023 period. The awards acknowledged men’s and women’s achievements in both international and domestic tournaments, highlighting emerging players and exceptional administrators who make competitions possible.

Nalin Nipiko and Rachel Andrew stole the spotlight at the awards night, with Nipiko claiming the prestigious James Kemsley Award for the top international men's player, along with Best International Batter and Best International Bowler titles. Andrew mirrored this success, securing the Best International Women's Player, Best International Batter, and Best International Bowler awards. The International Breakout Stars of the year were Junior Kaltapau, commended for becoming Vice-Captain during this period, and Valenta Langiatu, praised for her outstanding international performances.

Domestically, Jarryd Allan stood out, winning both the Men’s Most Valuable Player and Best Batter Awards. Obed Yosef was named Best Bowler of the Year, and Godfrey Mangau earned recognition as the Breakout Domestic Player. Leading the national women’s team, Selina Solman secured the Women’s Most Valuable Player award. Lemauri Chilia was praised as Women’s Best Batter, Vicky Mansale as best bowler, and Theresa Mansale as the standout Breakout Player of the period.

Apart from the cricket awards, the Vanuatu Cricket Association honoured outstanding administrators who play a crucial role in the success of both international and local competitions. They awarded titles like Umpire of the Year, Upcoming Umpire of the Year, Scorer of the Year, and Administrators of the Year. Meriel Kenni received Umpire of the Year for officiating nearly every tournament, even traveling to Fiji and Darwin in 2023. Pierre Chilia was named Upcoming Umpire of the Year, Hermione Vira got Scorer of the Year, and Amelia Lawac and Jamal Vira were recognized as Administrators of the Year for their hard work in keeping competitions running smoothly.

The Vanuatu Cricket Association eagerly anticipates a packed 2024 cricket season, marked by the upcoming Pacific Cup Women's Competition scheduled to take place in Auckland this January.

58 views0 comments


bottom of page