top of page

National Men’s & Women’s Team to Travel to Fiji for Inaugural Pacific Island Cricket Challenge 2023

The Vanuatu Cricket Association is pleased to announce its participation in the Pacific Island Cricket Challenge 2023. Cricket Fiji in partnership with the International Cricket Council East Asia Pacific (ICC EAP) and The Australian Defence Force are set to co-host the inaugural Pacific Island Cricket Challenge in Suva, Fiji this March.

The Pacific Island Cricket Challenge 2023 Organising Committee’s vision is ‘Pacific CommUNITY through Cricket’, which will be achieved in two parts: A Skills Development Program (SDP) from 5-9 March 2023, immediately followed by parallel men’s and women’s T20 tournaments played between 10-18 March 2023. However due to the impacts of Tropical Cyclone Judy and Kevin Vanuatu’s fixture dates have now been altered due to the national team now departing for Fiji on Sunday the 12th of March 2023.

Five men’s and women’s teams will participate in the weeklong tournament, along with other selected personnel who will participate in the Skills Development Program. Teams and select personnel will hail from six different countries, including Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Vanuatu, Fiji, along with one mixed team made-up of Australian and New Zealand Defence Force members.

The men’s and women’s tournaments will be played side-by-side in T20 International format, with teams playing five games each culminating in a final series and gala grand-final to decide the respective men’s and women’s Pacific Island Cricket Challenge 2023 Champions.

All matches will to be played at Albert Park, Suva and will be live streamed to participating countries.

The touring squad selected to represent Vanuatu is:

Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu National Men’s Team:

1) Andrew Mansale (Coach, Splashe Mele Bulls)

2) Patrick Matautaava (Captain, Splashe Mele Bulls)

3) Junior Paul Kaltapau (Vice-Captain, Tusker Panthers)

4) Ronald Tari (North Efate Bushpigs)

5) Joshua Rasu (Tusker Panthers)

6) Nalin Nipiko (Ifira)

7) Darren Wotu (Tafea CC)

8) Obed Yosef (Paama Sharks)

9) Bettan Ala Viraliliu (Paama Sharks)

10) Godfrey Mangau (Tafea CC)

11) Clement Tommy (Tafea CC)

12) Roderick Lekai (Tafea CC)

13) Womejo Wotu (Tafea CC)

14) Simpson Obed (Mighty Saints CC)

15) Apolinaire Stephen (Assistant Coach, Paama Sharks)

16) Tim Cutler (Reserve Player & Manager, North Efate Bushpigs)

Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu National Women’s Team:

1) Selina Solman (Captain, North Efate Bushpigs)

2) Alvina Chilia (Vice-Captain, Splashe Mele Bulls)

3) Rachel Andrew (Ifira Blackbirds)

4) Valenta Langiatu (Splashe Mele Bulls)

5) Vicky Mansale (Splashe Mele Bulls)

6) Marcelina Mete (Splashe Mele Bulls)

7) Gillian Chilia (Splashe Mele Bulls)

8) Netty Chilia (Splashe Mele Bulls)

9) Rayline Ova (Splashe Mele Bulls)

10) Leimara Tastuki (Ifira Blackbirds)

11) Louise Tastuki (Splashe Mele Bulls)

12) Therese Mansale (Splashe Mele Bulls)

13) Tina Kalosin (North Efate Bushpigs)

14) Maloni Vatoko (Splashe Mele Bulls)

The Vanuatu Cricket Association would also like to thank the Vanuatu Government who were able to issue emergency travel documents for ten of the touring party in the days after Tropical Cyclone Kevin.

197 views0 comments


bottom of page