top of page

Australian National Indigenous Cricket Teams set to tour Vanuatu next month

2018 Australian Men’s Indigenous Team

After placing second at the Pacific Island Cricket Challenge in Fiji last month, the Vanuatu Cricket Association is now gearing up to welcome and compete against the Australian Indigenous national men’s and women’s sides from the 3rd of May.

Cricket Australia announced their team selections late last month with some big names set to face our men’s and women’s national teams. Star all-rounder Kamilaroi woman Hannah Darlington will lead a young women’s Indigenous XI with support of Jawoyn woman Ella Hayward, and Gunditjmara man Damon Egan will captain the men’s Indigenous XI, with support of Kamilaroi man Dylan McLachlan as vice-captain.

This will be the Australian Indigenous teams’ first tour of Vanuatu and will see both squads play four T20 matches each against the respective Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu National Cricket Teams at the Vanuatu Cricket Grounds in Port Vila.

“We are overjoyed to finally be hosting this historic tour,” said VCA CEO Tim Cutler.

“The concept was originally conceived pre-pandemic and we are very appreciative of Cricket Australia and the Australian Government through PacificAus Sports for their continued support for the project despite the challenges of COVID. A huge thanks also goes to the Australian High Commission here; they’ve been amazing in helping plan for this momentous tour.

“We are honoured to welcome the first representative Cricket Australia team to Vanuatu and look forward to celebrating with some entertaining cricket as well as providing valuable opportunities for cultural exchanges between the touring squads and the broader local community.

“Without question, our men’s and women’s teams punch well above their weight on the world stage. As Vanuatu’s highest ranked national sporting teams and as impressive ambassadors of our nation around the world we have every reason to be proud of our cricketers, and I hope as many people take the opportunity to visit the Vanuatu Cricket Ground to watch them in action next month,” Cutler concluded.

The four match days in May will be Friday the 5th, Saturday the 6th, Monday the 8th and the final day of T20 games will be played on Tuesday the 9th before the teams depart a day later.

More details regarding fixtures and other details will be released shortly.

266 views0 comments


bottom of page