top of page

Vanuatu ready for final Challenge League leg as squad arrives in Malaysia

Vanuatu celebrate a wicket against the hosts during the CWC Challenge League in Canada during August 2022

The Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu Men's National Cricket Team have arrived in Malaysia for the last of three ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Challenge League A legs.

Led by skipper Patrick Matautaava who missed the Canada event due to visa complications Vanuatu are currently sitting fifth on the table needing a successful Challenge League in order to escape the relegation play-off zone from the ICC's global 50-over structures.

The final squad is as follows:

1) Patrick Matautaava (Captain, Splashe Mele Bulls)

2) Junior Kaltapau (Vice Captain, Tusker Panthers CC)

3) Jarryd Allan (Tusker Panthers CC)

4) Godfrey Mangau (Tafea CC)

5) Williamsing Nalisa (Tafea CC)

6) Nalin Nipiko (Ifira Blackbird CC)

7) Simpson Obed (Might Saints CC)

8) Joshua Rasu (Tusker Panthers CC)

9) Kenny Tari (Tusker Panthers CC)

10) Ronald Tari (North Efate Bushpigs)

11) Jamal Vira (Paama Sharks)

12) Ala Viraliliu (Paama Sharks)

13) Darren Wotu (Tafea CC)

14) Obed Yosef (Paama Sharks)

15) Nono Chilia (travelling reserve, Splashe Mele Bulls) After a practice match against Denmark on Thursday, the team will play five 50-over matches to round out the league:

SAT 3/12 vs. Singapore (Bayuemas Oval)

TUE 6/12 vs. Malaysia (YSD-UTM Oval)

WED 7/12 vs. Qatar (Bayuemas Oval)

SAT 10/12 vs. Denmark (YSD-UTM Oval)

MON 12/12 vs. Canada (Bayuemas Oval)

All matches start at 10am local time (1pm Vanuatu time) and will be streamed live and free on

261 views0 comments


bottom of page