top of page

VCA Celebrates Independence with the Commencement of Men's and Women's PCS Independence Cup!

The Vanuatu Cricket Association is delighted to announce the commencement of the highly anticipated PCS Independence Cup, coinciding with Vanuatu's 43rd year of independence celebrations. We are privileged and thrilled to have PCS Limited, a renowned sponsor, renew their commitment to the 2023 Independence Cup. The tournament promises a captivating display of cricketing excellence, where the champions will be rewarded with a grand prize of 100,000 Vatu. The Vanuatu Cricket Association extends its heartfelt gratitude to PCS Limited for their invaluable support in making this event possible.

The Men's and Women's PSC Independence Cup is scheduled to commence this weekend on the 15th of July. The annual tournament will be held at the Vanuatu Cricket Grounds and Independence Park and will span over three consecutive Saturdays, from the 15th to the 29th of July. The competition promises fierce competition among six prominent women's teams: Splashe Mele Bulls, Tafea Cricket Club, Ifira Blackbird, Mighty Panthers, Southern Wind, and North Efate Bushpigs. Additionally, seven formidable men's teams, namely Splashe Mele Bulls, Tafea Cricket Club, Paama Sharks, Tusker Panthers, North Efate Bushpigs, Ifira Blackbird, and Mighty Saints, will fiercely compete for a grand prize of 100,000 Vatu.

This weekend, our women's teams hit off the competition with Southern Wind vs. Splashe Mele Bulls at Vanuatu Cricket Grounds and Tafea Cricket Club vs. North Efate Bushpigs at Independence Park in their first knock-out round. Both matches start at 1 PM. The men's teams will begin their knock-out round next weekend, alongside the women's matches.

PCS Limited's continued sponsorship of the Independence Cup signifies a commitment to cricket and the development of the sport in Vanuatu. Under this renewed partnership, the tournament will offer an enticing grand prize of 100,000 Vatu for the victorious teams, while the runners-up will be awarded a notable sum of 50,000 Vatu. In addition to these significant rewards, PCS has generously included individual match prizes, recognising outstanding player performances such as surpassing the 50-run milestone or taking more than 3 wickets in a single match. Moreover, the tournament will celebrate and honour the exceptional talent on display by presenting an award to the Player of the Tournament.

All fixtures for the 2023 PCS Independence Cup can be found on CricHQ via the link below:

2022 PCS Independence Cup Champions: Mighty Saints

40 views0 comments


bottom of page